The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


Amarillo's New Council Takes Office

Amarillo's new City Council took office yesterday afternoon.

Potter County Judge Nancy Tanner was on hand at Amarillo City Hall to swear in new council members Elaine Hays, Freda Powell, Eddy Sauer and Howard Smith. Tanner also conducted the swearing-in for new mayor Ginger Nelson.

The Council took the five seats on the dais and began the work that will make up the next two years at City Hall. The Council took action a couple of second readings of items and asked for an agenda item to replace outgoing council members Lisa Blake and Randy Burkett on the Local Government Corporation.

The Council's next meeting will be on Tuesday, May 23rd.

Texas Senate Backs Straight-Ticket Ban

WTAMU Receives Tree Campus USA Designation