The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


New Council: Voters Choose Five New Councilmembers to Head to City Hall

Voters have sent five new councilmembers to Amarillo City Hall, following Saturday night's election.

Attorney Ginger Nelson was elected as the new mayor of Amarillo, with 79 percent of the vote. Cybersecurity expert Jim Lowder took home 16 percent, while photo archivist Renea Dauntes rounded out the field with 5 percent of the vote. Nelson will replace three-term Mayor Paul Harpole.

Financial planner Elaine Hays defeated incumbent Elisha Demerson to win the Place 1 City Council position, 67 percent to 33 percent.

In Place 2, Freda Powell defeated insurance broker James Schenck, 76 percent to 24 percent of the vote. Powell will replace Lisa Blake.

For Place 3, dentist Eddy Sauer defeated businessman Tom Warren II, with 78 percent of the vote. Sauer will replace Randy Burkett on the City Council.

For Place 4, voters chose ex-school board trustee Howard Smith over incumbent Mark Nair, 79 percent to 21 percent.

Also on Saturday, voters elected Jay Barrett, Sally Jennings, and Michele Fortunato to six-year terms on the Amarillo College Board. Voters also re-elected three incumbents in the race for AISD Board of Trustees. Retired teacher Cristy Wilkinson won the fourth spot on the board, outpacing incumbent Eric Darnell.

Jones, Lyons Win Canyon City Commission Spots

Price, Smithee Back Convention of States