Governor Greg Abbott signed a bill today making a statewide ban on texting while driving official.
Governor Abbott signed HB 62, which relates to the use of a handheld wireless device while driving. The bill passed the Texas House by a vote of 123-17. The bill also got approval from the Texas Senate, picking up a 23-8 vote.
Local legislators Kel Seliger, Four Price and John Smithee all backed the bill's passage.
With the bill's passage, Texas has become the 47th state with a ban on texting while driving. A first time offender will face a fine of $99. Repeat offenders will face fines of up to $200.
The new law will take effect on September 1, 2017.