The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


Jones, Lyons Win Canyon City Commission Spots

Canyon has elected two new city commissioners.

Canyon voters ousted two City Commissioners, Joe Shehan and David Logan, in favor of electing newcomers Cody Rook Jones and Paul R. Lyons.

Jones defeated Shehan, 66 percent to 34 percent, while Lyons defeated Logan, 59 percent to 41 percent.

Roger Remlinger and Justin Richardson both won races for Canyon City Commission seats unopposed.

Canyon also elected a new mayor, Gary Hinders. Hinders ran for the position unopposed.

Statewide Election Results

New Council: Voters Choose Five New Councilmembers to Head to City Hall