The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


AISD Board Approves Election Results

With the election results formally accepted, three new trustees are on their way to the Amarillo ISD board room.

On Monday, the AISD Board of Trustees held a special meeting to approve and accept the results of the 2019 AISD school board election. With the results approved, Kimberly Anderson, Dick Ford, and Alonzo Everhart are set to take seats on the board. Incumbent Robin R. Malone also won a special election unopposed for her seat, meaning she will also be approved for two years on the board.

Anderson, Ford, and Everhart will be taking the seats previously held by Jim Austin, John Betancourt, and F. Scott Flow on the board. Flow retired this year, while Austin and Betancourt were ousted by voters on May 4th, placing fourth and fifth, respectively, out of an eight candidate field.

Photo by AISD

Photo by AISD

APD Investigates Fatal Hit and Run

Report: Former Perry Foe Mulls 2020 Senate Bid