The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


Previewing the Amarillo Area School Board Contests

All eyes are on the races for seats on the Amarillo City Council ahead of the May 4th general election, but there are some education races also affecting voters appearing on the ballots.

On May 4th, in Amarillo alone, eight candidates are vying for seats on the Amarillo Independent School District Board of Trustees. Incumbents John Betancourt and Jim Austin are seeking re-election, with incumbent F. Scott Flow retiring, leaving one open seat. In the cumulative contest, Dick Ford, Aaron Ladd, Alonzo Everhart, Kimberly Anderson, Rob Parker, and Hobert Brown, Jr. have stepped up for an opportunity to take a seat on the board.

Robin R. Malone is also running in an unopposed contest for the AISD Board of Trustees’ unexpired term contest, as she looks to fulfill the remaining two years of the term won by former trustee James Allen in 2017.

Just south of the Amarillo Independent School District, a race for an unexpired term is also seeing one incumbent hoping to fulfill the remaining years of a term, but that incumbent will have a challenger. Jenni Winegarner, the incumbent, is running for the final years of the unexpired term, facing off with B. David Velasquez.

At River Road ISD voters also have choices to make. For River Road, incumbents Butch Dawson and Copen Smith are running for re-election, facing challengers Lori Peterson and Curt Ridley. One seat is open there.

For Bushland ISD, incumbents Carrie Kirton, Eddie Fuentes, and Randy Boone are running for re-election, facing challengers J. “Shell” Stewart, William “Casey” Snyder, and Steven Hill. Three seats are up for grabs.

After seeing nine candidates seek seats in 2017, the Amarillo College Board of Regents is also holding an election this year, albeit with a smaller field. Incumbents Paul Proffer, Johnny Mize, and David Woodburn are running for re-election, facing challengers Jack B. Westbrook and Terry Hawthorne.

Voters will decide all of these contests on May 4th.

Photo by MarketWatch

Photo by MarketWatch

Turnout Slips in Potter, Randall on Third Day of Early Voting

O'Rourke, Castro Favored by Texas Democrats in New Poll