The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


May 4, 2019 - Amarillo Election Sample Ballot


  • Kip Billups

  • Claudette R. Smith

  • Ginger Nelson (Incumbent)

City Council, Place 1

  • Elaine Hays (Incumbent)

  • Hayden Pedigo

  • Richard Herman

  • Jay U. Kirkman, III

City Council, Place 2

  • Treva L. Harper

  • Freda Powell (Incumbent)

City Council, Place 3

  • Brad Torch

  • Tom Warren, II

  • Eddy Sauer (Incumbent)

City Council, Place 4

  • Steven R. Rosas, Jr.

  • Howard S. Smith (Incumbent)

Amarillo College Board of Regents (Choose Up to Three)

  • Johnny Mize (Incumbent)

  • Terry Hawthorne

  • Jack B. Westbrook

  • Paul Proffer (Incumbent)

  • David C. Woodburn (Incumbent)

Amarillo ISD Board of Trustees (Choose Up to Three)

  • Kimberly Anderson

  • Alonzo Everhart

  • Aaron Ladd

  • Hobert Brown, Jr.

  • Jim Austin (Incumbent)

  • Dick Ford

  • Rob Parker

  • John Betancourt (Incumbent)

Canyon ISD Board of Trustees - Unexpired Term (Choose One)

  • Jenni Winegarner

  • B. “David” Velasquez

Amarillo College Bond Election

“The issuance of $89,206,000 of bonds by the Amarillo Junior College District for the construction, acquisition, renovation and equipment of school buildings for the district, the purchase of necessary sites therefore, and the levying of the tax for payment thereof”

  • For

  • Against

Photo by Delmarva Public Radio

Photo by Delmarva Public Radio

Amarillo Area Lane Closures (April 22, 2019)

Potter County Early Voting Polling Places