The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


Abbott Extends Hurricane Disaster Declaration

Governor Greg Abbott has extended a disaster declaration for counties affected by Hurricane Harvey.

This week, Abbott announced the extension of the disaster declaration for Aransas, Austin, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Harris, Jackson, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Liberty, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, Waller, Wharton and Wilson counties. Additionally, Abbott extended the disaster declarations for Angelina, Atascosa, Bastrop, Bexar, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Cameron, Comal, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Jasper, Kerr, Lee, Leon, Madison, Milam, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Washington and Willacy counties.

The extensions will provide new disaster declarations for the counties, according to Abbott's Office.

For more information,

Photo by KTRK

Photo by KTRK

Commissioners to Declare Randall County a 'Purple Heart County'

Over 400 Citations Issued During Click It or Ticket Campaign