The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


Statewide Incumbents Defeat Primary Challengers

Every statewide Republican seeking renomination on Tuesday night won the favor of Texas voters for another term.

According to election results from the Texas Secretary of State's office, the seven Republican incumbents facing primary challengers statewide on Tuesday won re-election. While some candidates won by landslide margins, others narrowly squeaked out a victory over their challengers.

Starting at the top of the ballot, Senator Ted Cruz claimed victory over four Republican challengers. Cruz, the incumbent, won over 1.3 million votes on Tuesday, claiming 85 percent. Mary Miller, an accountant, gave Cruz his biggest challenge, winning 6 percent of the vote, followed by television producer Bruce Jacobson, Jr., at 4 percent, attorney Stefano de Stefano at 3 percent, and former La Marque mayor Geraldine Sam with 2 percent.

Governor Greg Abbott easily dispatched his two opponents, as well, winning 90 percent of the vote over educator Barbara Krueger at 8 percent and SECEDE Kilgore at 1 percent.

Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick topped educator advocate and former Rockwall city councilman Scott Milder on Tuesday, winning 76 percent to Milder's 24 percent. While Patrick did win a majority, the race did see Milder win five counties around the state.

Land Commissioner George P. Bush avoided a runoff in his four-way primary contest on Tuesday. Bush won 58 percent of the vote, topping his closest rival, Jerry Patterson. Patterson, a former state senator and land commissioner, won 30 percent of the vote statewide. Land surveyor Dr. Davey Edwards and retired firefighter Rick Range claimed 7 percent and 5 percent, respectively. The race saw Bush win every county in Texas, except for two, which went for Patterson.

Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller also stopped a challenge Austin lobbyist Trey Blocker on Tuesday, earning 56 percent of the vote. Jim Hogan, who was the Democratic Party's nominee for agriculture commissioner in the 2014 election, came in second with 23 percent, followed by Blocker at 21 percent.

Railroad Commissioner Christi Craddick also won renomination over Weston Martinez. Martinez, who has sought the Railroad Commission office before, pulled in 24 percent, to Craddick's 76 percent. However, Martinez did win in two counties.

In the final statewide race featuring a challenged incumbent, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals judge Sharon Keller narrowly escaped a challenge by Bridges, a judge on Texas' 5th District Court of Appeals. Keller won 52 percent to Bridges' 48 percent.

For the only statewide race not featuring an incumbent, Republicans sent Michelle Slaughter to the general election in the Court of Appeals Place 8 race. Slaughter won 53 percent, topping Jay Brandon at 31 percent and Dib Waldrip at 16 percent. Slaughter will not face a Democrat in November.

All of the Republican nominees will face their Democratic and third-party opponents in the November 6th general election.

FROM LEFT: Land Commissioner George P. Bush; Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller  Photos by Campaigns

FROM LEFT: Land Commissioner George P. Bush; Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller

Photos by Campaigns

Harman Re-Elected in Randall County

Voters Pick Price, King for Legislative Spots