The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


Democrats Send Valdez, White to Governor Runoff

Two Democrats are advancing to a runoff in the race for Texas governor.

Lupe Valdez, former Dallas County sheriff, led the nine-candidate Democratic field for governor on Tuesday, earning 43 percent of the vote. Andrew White, a Houston businessman, earned his spot in the runoff, coming in second with 27 percent. In addition to Valdez and White, three other Democrats won counties on Tuesday night. Cedric Davis, Sr., won 8 percent statewide and three counties. Retired teacher Grady Yarbrough won 5 percent statewide, in addition to a number of counties around the panhandle. Dallas businessman Jeffrey Payne won 5 percent statewide and won in Armstrong County. Finally, Tom Wakely won 3 percent statewide and Collingsworth County.

Down the ballot, Democrats chose account Mike Collier to face Lt. Governor Dan Patrick in November. Collier narrowly defeated businessman Michael Cooper, 52 percent to 48 percent.

Miguel Suazo won the statewide primary for land commissioner in the Democratic primary contest. Suazo, an attorney making his election debut, won 70 percent to Carl Tex Morgan's 30 percent. Suazo will face incumbent George P. Bush in November.

Joi Chevalier narrowly won the party's nomination for comptroller. In unofficial statewide election results, Chevalier won 52 percent to Tim Mahoney's 48 percent.

Roman McAllen also earned his spot on the November ballot on Tuesday. McAllen won the Democratic primary for railroad commissioner with 58 percent. His only opponent, Chris Spellmon, won 42 percent. McAllen will face incumbent Republican Christi Craddick in November.

Finally, Beto O'Rourke, an El Paso congressman, finalized his place on the November ballot, by winning the Democratic Party's nomination for the U.S. Senate. O'Rourke won 62 percent statewide, defeating his closest opponent, Sema Hernandez, who won 24 percent. Edward Kimbrough won the remaining 14 percent.

Voters will decide the party's race for governor in the May 22nd runoff.

Photo by NBCDFW, Politifact

Photo by NBCDFW, Politifact

Benton Wins Third Term on Randall Commission

Harman Re-Elected in Randall County