The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


Voters Decide Races in Runoffs

Several elections were decided across the state on Saturday night as Texas voters went to the polls to vote in local runoff elections.

In Arlington, voters decided on two City Council races. Voters elected consultant Roxanne Thalman to the District 3 seat for Arlington, to succeed Councilman Robert Rivera. Thalman defeated opponent Marvin Sutton, an air traffic controller, by three votes, winning 925 votes to 922. Because of the close margin of the race, an automatic recount is planned, but Thalman currently holds the lead.

Voters in Arlington also re-elected Councilwoman Lana Wolff to the District 5 spot over University of Texas at Arlington student Dakota Loupe. Wolff won reelection with 54 percent of the vote to Loupe's 46 percent.

In El Paso, voters decided who would replace Mayor Oscar Leeser. Voters chose former State Representative Dee Margo to take the spot over lock company owner David Saucedo. Margo won the office of mayor with 57 percent of the vote to Saucedo's 43 percent.

Voters in El Paso also decided three City Council spots in runoffs. Voters elected Cassandra Hernandez Brown, Alexsandra Annello and Sam Morgan to terms on the Council.

San Antonio voters ousted Mayor Ivy Taylor in Saturday's runoff. Taylor, who has served as mayor since 2014, pulled in 45 percent of the vote to Councilman Ron Nirenberg's 55 percent. Taylor was appointed to the office of mayor in 2014, following the departure of Mayor Julian Castro. Taylor then won a full term as mayor, in 2015, over Leticia Van de Putte, but was unable to overcome Nirenberg's totals this year.

Fort Worth voters also elected Carlos Flores over Steve Thornton for a City Council spot. Flores, an aerospace engineer, defeated Thornton, a retired firefighter, with 52 percent of the vote.

Bomb Threat Shakes Monday Morning Traffic

AISD Board Meets to Discuss Senior Forums