The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


AISD District Teachers of the Year Honored

Amarillo ISD has announced its District Teachers of the Year.

Elementary winner Molly Kyle and secondary winner Amanda Head were honored at the Lamar Lively Teacher of the Year Breakfast. The teachers were awarded $500 each from the Lamar Lively Fund at the Amarillo Area Foundation and $300 each from the Amarillo Education Foundation. Southwest Airlines also awarded the teachers with two round-trip tickets to anywhere the airline flies.

Those who were named Campus Teacher of the Year were also accompanied by their school's administration to the breakfast. Each recognized teacher received a glass award and a poster symbolic of their accomplishment. The teachers also received a free car wash from Amarillo Auto Clean. Finalists received a month of free car washes.

Region 16 Teachers of the Year will be named at the 2017 Fall Kickoff on August 10 at the Amarillo Civic Center.

Amarillo Gander Mountain to Stay Open

Two Car Accident Sends Two to Hospital