The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


Your Ballot 2018: Who Is Running (So Far) - Updated

In an effort to update voters on your choices for the 2018 state and local elections, The Amarillo Pioneer will be bringing you regularly updated lists of the candidates who are running to represent you.

According to lists from the Texas Secretary of State's office, here are the candidates currently vying for spots in Amarillo and statewide:

*Only races with multiple candidates are listed below

U.S. Senate

Ted Cruz (Republican)

Beto O'Rourke (Democrat)

Stefano de Stefano (Republican)

Geraldine Sam (Republican)

Bruce Jacobson, Jr. (Republican)

Mary Miller (Republican)

U.S. Congress, District 13

Mac Thornberry (Republican)

~Greg Sagan (Democrat)


Danny Harrison (Independent)

Jeffrey A. Payne (Democrat)

Thomas J. "Tom" Wakely (Democrat)

Lupe Valdez (Democrat)

Andrew White (Democrat)

Grady Yarbrough (Democrat)

Adrian Ocegueda (Democrat)

Daniel Ray Wooten* (Unknown)

Kory D. Watkins (Libertarian)

Kathie Glass (Libertarian)

Bryon A. Bradford* (Unknown)

Edward Lee Nash* (Unknown)

Yvette Y. Gbalazeh (Unknown)

Thor Harris (Unknown)

Greg Abbott (Republican)

Joseph Mumbach (Democrat)

Larry SECEDE Kilgore (Republican)

Demetria Y. Smith (Unknown)

Lee Weaver (Democrat)

Lieutenant Governor

Mike Collier (Democrat)

Dan Patrick (Republican)

Scott Milder (Republican)

Michael Cooper (Democrat)

Attorney General

W. Ken Paxton (Republican)

Justin Nelson (Democrat)

Agriculture Commissioner of Texas

Thomas D. Caudle (Democrat)

Sid Miller (Republican)

Kim D. Olson (Democrat)

Trey Blocker (Republican)

Land Commissioner of Texas

George P. Bush (Republican)

Davey Edwards (Republican)

Rick Range (Republican)

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Benjamin D. Sanders (Libertarian)

Tim Mahoney (Democrat)

Glenn Hegar (Republican)

Railroad Commissioner

Roman McAllen (Democrat)

Mark Miller (Libertarian)

Christi L. Craddick (Republican)

Texas Supreme Court, Place 4

John Devine (Republican)

R.K. Sandhill (Democrat)

Texas Supreme Court, Place 6

Jeff Brown (Republican)

Kathy Cheng (Democratic)

State Senator, District 31

Victor E. Leal (Republican)

Mike Canon (Republican)

Kel Seliger (Republican)

State Representative, District 87

Four Price (Republican)

Drew Brassfield (Republican)

Potter County Court at Law #2

Wade Overstreet (Republican)

Matthew Hand (Republican)

Jerry Morales (Republican)

Randall County Court at Law #2

Matt Martindale (Republican)

Stewart Werner (Republican)

James Abbott (Republican)

Ronnie Walker (Republican)

Randall County Clerk

Jami Love (Republican)

Marie McNutt (Republican)

Susan Allen (Republican)

Photo by Delmarva Public Radio

Photo by Delmarva Public Radio

APD Identifies Deceased Man Involved in Quail Creek Accident

Amarillo Weather (December 6-8, 2017)