The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


WTAMU's Williams Named to Chancellor's Academy

"Dr. Kevin Williams of West Texas A&M University is one of 10 faculty members in The Texas A&M University System named as a 2018 recipient of the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators. The Academy recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of teacher education and highlights the role of the A&M System in producing K-12 teachers for the state of Texas.

Williams, associate professor of agricultural education, joins 2018 inductees Dr. Julie Harlin, Texas A&M University; Dr. Vicky Johnson, Tarleton State University; Dr. Cleveland Lane, Prairie View A&M University; Dr. Marie Lassmann, Texas A&M University-Kingsville; Dr. Runchang Lin, Texas A&M International University; Dr. Mienie Roberts, Texas A&M University-Central Texas; Dr. Jana Sanders, Teas A&M University-Corpus Christi; Dr. Pamela Webster, Texas A&M University-Commerce; and Dr. Edward Westermann, Texas A&M University-San Antonio.

“On behalf of The Texas A&M University System and the Chancellor’s Century Council, congratulations to all the recipients and thank you for your service to this state and nation,” John Sharp, chancellor of The Texas A&M University System, said. “I have no doubt that the future will be brighter for it.”

Each year, university faculty, staff and students are invited to nominate any full-time member who has had a significant impact on the preparation of teachers. Inductees are then selected by past Academy members.

The 2018 inductees receive a $1,000 stipend, provided by the Chancellor’s Century Council, a commemorative medallion and a certificate honoring their commitment and dedication to those who are teaching the next generation.

Williams is a perfect example of teaching excellence. He teaches by example and uses innovative teaching tools to instruct students in practical, real-world applications. He shares his passion for teaching with a caring attitude and a commitment to excellence by providing the best and most innovative methods to educate his students. Williams takes into account that no two students are alike and no students learn the same and patterns his teaching to meet the needs of each and every student and pushes them to reach their full potential.

“Dr. Williams is a student of teaching,” Dr. Lance Kieth, head of the Department of Agricultural Sciences, said. “His special interests are in the area of teaching methods and finding new ways to effectively educate students. He has dedicated many hours of research to not only improving his teaching skills, but also to improving the teaching of others.”

Williams has been a WTAMU faculty member for six years and active with WTAMU Collegiate FFA, Agricultural Ambassadors and the Livestock Judging Team. He also has advised the Texas Collegiate FFA chapter at the state level and helped with numerous 4-H and FFA activities.

Other WTAMU faculty members who have been named to the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators include Dr. Lance Kieth (2011), Dr. Ashley Campbell (2013), Mary J. Cruz (2014), Connie McKee (2015) and Dr. Elsa Diego-Medrano (2016)."

-West Texas A&M University

Photo by WTAMU

Photo by WTAMU

Letter: Save the Christ Church Camp

Amarillo Weather (February 27-29)