The Amarillo Pioneer

Amarillo's only free online newspaper. Established in 2016, we work to bring you local news that is unbiased and honest.


Nominees for 2016 Pioneer of the Year Announced

As Publisher of Amarillo's free daily no-nonsense newspaper, it gives me great pleasure to announce the finalists for the 1st annual 'Pioneer of the Year' award. While there are many deserving individuals in the community that would fit the bill for this prestigious award, these finalists were nominated by readers for consideration. It should be important to note that these finalists had multiple nominations by readers and were not necessarily chosen by The Pioneer. We do however support the choices that the readers made for this award in their entirety because each of these nominees made a significant contribution in the eyes of the reader that made the nomination.

Readers will be able to cast votes for the 'Pioneer of the Year' beginning on January 1st. More information about voting can be found on our website ( Also, short 2016 biographies of the finalists will be available on our website before voting.

We hope that you will make your voice heard to determine the first ever recipient of this annual award.


Tom Warren II

Publisher, The Amarillo Pioneer


The Finalists for Pioneer of the Year Are:


  • Jeff Blackburn

  • Randy Burkett

  • Terry Childers

  • Dr. Russell Lowery-Hart

  • Kit Rudd

  • James Schenck

  • Len Walker

  • Thomas Warren III

  • Perry Williams


Abbott Meets with Turnbull During Family Vacation

WT Scholarship Date Approaching